Presidents Welcome

A return to Saturday rugby at Station Rd. for our first XV men’s team has been a club objective for the past few seasons and my congratulations to the entire squad and backroom team who have delivered on that objective. With our women’s 1st XV winning Leinster and gaining promotion to the women’s AIL it sets us up for regular quality entertaining rugby on many Saturdays at Station Rd., I encourage you to visit regularly and cheer on our players. I have asked a number of past presidents to form a welcome committee for each and every visiting team and once the 2019/20 fixtures are known we can look at potential “BIG/SUPER” Saturday days at our club.    

As we gear up for our club’s centenary it is important we approach that milestone with progress on several fronts including improving our playing/social facilities, growing our community reach so more of our neighbours want to visit Suttonians, developing rugby players who enjoy their sport and can maximise their potential and creating a record of all that has been achieved in the past. I have asked Vice President Donal O’Flynn to head a Centenary committee whose objectives include collecting material to allow us publish a centenary yearbook in advance of a big bash to celebrate 100 years of Suttonians Rugby.

I plan to work with my successor, Senior Deputy Gordon Linehan to put down the foundations for a significant international club tour, possibly to Canada.

I am mindful that any successful club needs depth in numbers to amongst other things create upwards competition for places and to ensure we have playing opportunities for those unable to commit to games every week-end. We need to ensure that our players outside our 1st team squads feel they are valued members of our club and the club has adequate resources devoted to their teams. We have a good relationship with our neighbours St. Fintan’s High School with Suttonians coaches and administrators giving countless hours of tuition in developing future generations of hopefully Suttonians Rugby players. In schoolboy parlance there is room for improvement as many of the schoolboys for whatever reason are not donning the green, blue and white hoops. I have asked Vice Presidents Stephen O Grady and Fintan Foy, along with others to work on both the retention of our existing players but also on increasing the percentage progressing from one side of the wall to the other! 

We have a journey to travel to bring Suttonians to where it can be and should be.  My goal as your president is to bring our club further along that journey being a big sheepdog who tries to bring his entire flock with him. My ask to each and every member is if we all do “a little” then we can all achieve “a lot”. Catch you in the club shortly but before I sign off ..Let’s have a great year, play some great rugby, sing some loud songs and for God’s sake try and make some new friends.  

 Fág an Bealach    


 Thomas Magner President 2019/20. 

Welcome Letter from our incoming President: 

Thank you, the members of Suttonians Rugby Football club for bestowing on me the honour of being your president for the season 2019/20. Along with my brother Philip, President 2007/08 the Magners  become  the second set of brothers after Tony & Donagh McHenry to hold the club’s highest office.

As I said at the recent club AGM, I thank not just the outgoing team but all the officers and clubmen since 1924 whose work both on and off the field has brought the club to its current position of being a widely recognised community based club offering rugby football to both genders of Adult, youth and minis. It was so heartening to see my predecessor John Hughes accept on all our behalves the Leinster Junior Club of the year award for season 2018/19, an independent recognition of the work of countless club members whose labour of love has been Suttonians.    

Quick Links:
Social Media:
  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Twitter Icon
  • White YouTube Icon
  • Instagram - White Circle

John J McDowell Memorial Grounds, Station Road


Dublin 13

Call 087-981-6320 (09:00-17:00)